top of page
  • Writer's pictureNutty Bookworm

#enjoyablestory




Book Info:

The House That Whispers by Lin Thompson

Genre: Middle Grade Contemporary

Publishing Date: February 28, 2023


Synopsis:

From the author of The Best Liars in Riverview comes a subtle exploration of gender identity, family, and the personal ghosts that haunt us all, perfect for fans of Kyle Lukoff and Ashley Herring Blake. Eleven-year-old Simon and his siblings, Talia and Rose, are staying the week at Nanaleen’s century-old house. This time, though, it’s not their usual summer vacation trip. In fact, everything’s different. It’s fall, not summer. Mom and Dad are staying behind to have a “talk.” And Nanaleen’s house smells weird, plus she keeps forgetting things. And these aren’t the only things getting under Simon’s skin: He’s the only one who knows that his name is Simon, and that he and him pronouns are starting to feel right. But he’s not ready to add to the changes that are already in motion in his family.

To make matters worse, Simon keeps hearing a scratching in the walls, and shadows are beginning to build in the corners. He can’t shake the feeling that something is deeply wrong…and he’s determined to get to the bottom of it—which means launching a ghost hunt, with or without his sisters’ help. When Simon discovers the hidden story of his great-aunt Brie, he realizes that Brie’s life might hold answers to some of his worries. Is Brie’s ghost haunting the old O’Hagan house? And will Simon’s search for ghosts turn up more secrets than he ever expected?


Book Links:


About the Author:

Lin Thompson (they/them) is a former children’s librarian, a Lambda Literary Fellow, and the author of two books for middle-grade readers: The Best Liars in Riverview (Little, Brown, 2022), which is a Junior Library Guild Gold Standard selection and received a starred review from Booklist, and The House That Whispers (Little, Brown, 2023). Lin grew up playing pretend games in the backyard and basement of their home in Kentucky. Now they get to write pretend stories in the backyard and basement of their home in Des Moines, IA, where they live with their wife and cat.

Author Links:


Tour Schedule:



Well what can I say Lin Thompson has done it again with a wonderful Contemporary about family past and present, characters knowing that they were different and having the courage to become who they should be, and what happens when a beloved member of the family becomes old. These are just some of the storylines which would make a good discussions.


There was another character that played a big role in the story which really made the story more interesting and that was the actual house which Lin pulled off really well.


For all these reasons I am giving The House that Whispers 4 stars





6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

留言


bottom of page