top of page
  • Writer's pictureNutty Bookworm

#suchfun




Book Info:

Audrey Covington Breaks the Rules by Karina Evans

Genre: Middle Grade Contemporary

Publishing Date: April 18, 2023


Synopsis:

A grandmother-granddaughter duo set off on the Hollywood adventure of a lifetime in this funny middle-grade novel about breaking rules, growing up, and finding yourself—perfect for fans of Wendy Mass and Booki Vivat. Audrey Covington’s parents are the textbook definition of strict—they don’t let Audrey stay up late or watch scary movies, and they definitely don’t let her go anywhere unsupervised. Audrey knows it’s best to just accept the way it is. But her friends decide her parents’ rules are getting in the way of all their fun and unceremoniously disinvite her from their annual start-of-summer slumber party so they aren’t tied down by boring Audrey. Now Audrey is stuck helping her parents move her former-movie-star grandmother into a luxury retirement community. When she finally manages to sneak off to her parents’ car to check her phone, her grandmother climbs into the driver’s seat and speeds off—not realizing Audrey is still in the back seat! After startling each other, they come to a deal: Audrey promises not to tell her parents where her grandma is if Audrey can join in on one last grand adventure—no rules allowed. But as the two make their way across Hollywood, they realize that the life they think they want might not be what they need.


Book Links:


About the Author:

Karina Evans is a children’s author from Santa Barbara, California. She is represented by Jessica Mileo at InkWell Management.

Karina studied English at the University of Delaware before starting a career in the entertainment industry.

Some of Karina’s favorite things include: See’s Candies, The Amazing Race, singing show tunes in the car, and volleyball. She currently lives in Los Angeles with her two mischievous cats, Sir Pounce and Taika.


Author Links:


Tour Schedule:




Oh my days Audrey Covington Breaks the Rules is such a wild ride from start to finish and making Hollywood and it's surrounding areas actual characters.


I loved the relationship between Audrey and her Nana Rhea and I think they both realised for different reasons their need for a no rules day. I even started thinking about what sort of day I would have if there were no rules.


This book made me laugh and cry and I was on tenterhooks waiting to see what happened next. Oh boy this story was fast moving.


For all these reasons I am giving Audrey Covington Breaks the Rules 4 stars

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page