top of page
  • Writer's pictureNutty Bookworm

#greatstarttoaseries




Book Info:

Tessa Miyata is No Hero by Julie Abe

Genre: Middle Grade Fantasy

Publishing Date: August 22, 2023


Synopsis:

A thrilling and charming middle grade fantasy steeped in Japanese lore and mythology, perfect for fans of the Zachary Ying series.

Tessa Miyata has never fit in. When she and her two sisters are told they will be staying at their grandparents in Japan, Tessa is thrilled. A summer in Japan could be her chance to go on an adventure worthy of impressing her classmates back home. Her hopes are quickly dashed when, all too soon, she realizes that life in Japan is just like being in California: her sisters are old enough to go into Tokyo, while she can’t even go to the corner store by herself. Plus, her grandparents want her to stay home with the neighbor kid, thirteen-year-old Jin Uehara, who’s made it clear he’s too cool to spend time with a weirdo like her. When Tessa is finally allowed to go to Tokyo, it’s only to join her grandpa’s retiree aerobic class with none other than Jin. Their disastrous forced hang out comes crashing to a halt when Tessa and Jin break the Miyata family’s precious heirloom—accidentally releasing the malicious samurai god Taira Masakado and discovering a hidden part of the city where gods and mythological creatures walk among humans—including their new companion, a mythical nine-tailed fox who may be more trouble than he is help. Despite doing everything to avoid spending another minute together, Tessa and Jin must now work together to stop Taira Masakado before he traps them—and the rest of Tokyo—under his command, forever. Perfect for fans of Rick Riordan and Graci Kim, this brand new fantasy adventure will grip readers from the very first page and never let go.


Book Links:



About the Author:

Julie Abe is the author of the EVA EVERGREEN, SEMI-MAGICAL WITCH middle grade fantasy series; the middle grade fantasy ALLIANA, GIRL OF DRAGONS; and the young adult novel THE CHARMED LIST. She has lived in Silicon Valley, spent many humid summers in Japan, and currently basks in the sunshine of Southern California with never enough books or tea, where she creates stories about magical adventures.


Author Links:


Tour Schedule:




Julie Abe does what she does best introducing readers to the world of Japanese Lore which keeps the readers like me captivated. For me this book is a great start to a brand new series which I know that I shall be continuing.


I admit I did find Tessa a tad bit annoying and it kind of did put me off but it is understandable when you look at what has happened to her in the past but I will say her growth through this book was something else and made me change my mind about her.


For me the standout character was Kit he was a bit naughty but always had Tessa and Jin's back so I hope he has a bigger role in the books to come.


For all the above reasons I give Tessa Miyata is No Hero 4 stars.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page