top of page
  • Writer's pictureNutty Bookworm

#canwehavesomemoreofthisfamilyplease




Book Info:

Extra Normal by Kate Alice Marshall

Genre: Middle Grade Horror

Publishing Date: August 29, 2023


Synopsis:

It’s hard to fight the supernatural when you’re naturally “un-super.” This chilling middle grade is perfect for fans of Stranger Things and Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark…even if they don’t have any special powers. Charlie Greer is nothing special—at least not compared to her adopted siblings. Her younger sister is a ghost. Her brother Mateo is a werewolf. Gideon is the product of seriously sketchy experiments that gave him telekinetic powers. Even her parents work for the Division of Extranormal Investigations tracking down all things supernatural, alien, and otherwise unusual. Charlie’s mom says her superpower is maturity—which doesn’t really count. But what Charlie lacks in powers she makes up for by keeping the household running. Now, with her parents off on their first vacation in years, it’s up to her to take care of her siblings and make sure nothing disrupts the trip. But then the new neighbors arrive. The Weavers are a nice, normal couple. Too nice and too normal. And for some reason, they don’t seem to want Charlie to see inside their house. She’s certain they’re hiding something. Charlie has to uncover what’s going on with the Weavers and stop their plans—without letting Mom and Dad find out anything is wrong.


Book Links:


About the Author:

Kate Alice Marshall is the author of young adult and middle grade novels, including I AM STILL ALIVE, RULES FOR VANISHING, and THIRTEENS.

She lives outside of Seattle with her husband, two dogs named Vonnegut and Octavia, and two kids. They all conspire to keep her on her toes.



I know you aren't supposed to judge a book by a cover but when I saw Extra Normal Blog Tour Email I was like sign me up like NOW even before I read the synopsis. Oh my god this book was amazing and at the heart of it was a family of characters you may not have put together and that is all I am saying.


Our main character was Charlie who was fab but also her siblings Mateo, Pearl and Gideon were also strong too as well as the adults and this was my main draw to the book. Then comes the spooky and the strange which Kate Alice Marshall handles so well and you literally forget you are reading a Middle Grade. I know Kids and Adults will eat up this book like I did. I have other books of my own by Kate and I can't wait to read them. For all these reasons I have given Extra Normal 5 stars and please could we have a sequel.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page