top of page
  • Writer's pictureNutty Bookworm

#beautifulbutbeawareofthetriggers




Book Info:

The Song of Us by Kate Fussner

Genre: Middle Grade Contemporary Romance

Publishing Date: May 30, 2023


Synopsis:

This stunning debut and wholly original queer middle grade novel-in-verse retelling of “Orpheus and Eurydice” adds a new chorus to the songs of great love, perfect for fans of Other Words for Home and Ivy Aberdeen’s Letter to the World. Love at first sight isn’t a myth. For seventh graders Olivia and Eden, it’s fate. Olivia is a capital-P Poet, and Eden thinks she wants to be a musician one day, but for now she’s just the new girl. And then Eden shows up to Poetry Club and everything changes. Eden isn’t out, and she has rules for dating Olivia: don’t call. Don’t tell her friends. And don’t let anyone know they’re together. But when jealousy creeps in, it’s Olivia’s words that push Eden away. While Eden sets out to find herself, Olivia begins a journey to bring Eden back—using poetry. Both Olivia and Eden will learn just how powerful their words can be to bring them together . . . or tear them apart forever.

Content Warning: Homophobia, mental illness


Book Links:


About the Author:

Kate Fussner writes books for young people and bakes the perfect chocolate chip cookie. She holds a B.A from Vassar College, an M.Ed. from University of Massachusetts Boston, and an M.F.A. in Creative Writing for Young People from Lesley University. After over a decade of teaching English for the Boston Public Schools, Kate now spends her time writing and walking her dramatic dog, Mrs. Weasley. She is represented by Eric Smith at P.S. Literary. Her writing has appeared in the Boston Globe, WBUR’s Cognoscenti, and elsewhere. She and her wonderful wife live in MA.


Author Links:


Tour Schedule:



A lot of people don't believe in love at first sight but for 7th Graders Eden & Olivia who fall for each other so hard and so fast they know that they are meant to be together.


Through beautiful verse Kate tells a captivating story of pure utter love and then the other side after something happens.


Throughout the story Kate tackles certain issues such as peer pressure, mental illness, abandonment by a parent, homophobia so well. This made me care for Olivia and Eden and I was routing for them.


For all the above reasons I am giving The Song of Us 4 stars.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page